Track Name

Metropolis Records

Record Label

Label Description
Metropolis Records was founded in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania in 1993. The label releases material in the electro-industrial, synthpop, future pop, darkwave, and gothic music genres, although it is open to releasing any genre of dark alternative music, whether electronic-based or post-punk.

In 1993, Dave Heckman formed Metropolis Records, and started the process of building a roster and partnerships with bands and labels overseas. The label's first releases were issued in May 1994. These albums were "Teignmouth" and "Mental Traveller" by Love Is Colder Than Death, "Revelations 23" by Mentallo and the Fixer, and "Bioculture" by Electro Assassin. Almost immediately, the company was able to expand past simply licensing albums from overseas partners, with the thirteenth release, Mentallo And The Fixer's "Continuum", being the first direct signing by Metropolis. Early releases were by Lassigue Bendthaus, Numb, and Evil's Toy.

In 1995, Metropolis signed industrial act Front Line Assembly. A distribution deal with Caroline Distribution made it possible to get releases into national chain stores like Borders and Tower Records.

Better-known bands Project Pitchfork, Die Form, and cEvin Key (of Skinny Puppy) were released alongside lesser-known acts. Metropolis was involved in the coproduction of 1997's Dark Harvest III concert in Philadelphia, which featured The Sisters Of Mercy in the US for a one night only performance.

Metropolis celebrated its 100th release by the issuing of Re:Boot, a live album from EBM group Front 242.

At the end of the 1990s and in the early 2000s Metropolis issued material by VNV Nation "Empires", Apoptygma Berzerk "Welcome to Earth", Icon of Coil - "Serenity Is the Devil" and Covenant – "United States of Mind". In other types of music, the label released albums by Wumpscut, Haujobb, Das Ich, Suicide Commando, Clan Of Xymox, Juno Reactor, Wolfsheim, London After Midnight, a newly reformed KMFDM, and both an album and DVD by Bauhaus.

Over the next few years, Metropolis continued to expand, signing bands such as The Birthday Massacre, Electric Six, Juno Reactor, IAMX and Gary Numan, as well as the label's top selling album to date, "You'll Rebel to Anything" by Mindless Self Indulgence. 2010 saw Metropolis Records join forces with long-time supporter and friend Jim Semonik to release his "Electronic Saviors: Industrial Music to Cure Cancer" series, a set wherein bands from all over the world donate tracks. To date, the compilations have raised over $30,000 for cancer charities such as Gilda's Club.

Recent additions include the electronic pop singer Alison Moyet and Skinny Puppy.

Metropolis Records has expand ts output to include releases from punk to ambient experimental, rock, trance, electronic industrial, goth rock, and others.

Associated Artists






Data Complete

External Links
Website MusicBrainz