Artist Name
The Shins
(0 users)

Data Complete

5 Mixed

New Mexico, USA




1996 to Present...

Record Label


Most Loved Tracks

Music Video Links

Upcoming Live Shows

Artist Biography
Available in:
The Shins are an American indie rock band from Albuquerque, New Mexico, formed in 1996. The band consists of James Mercer (vocals, guitar), Joe Plummer (drums), Jessica Dobson (guitar), Yuuki Matthews (bass) and Richard Swift (keyboards). The band is currently based in Portland, Oregon.

The Shins began in 1997 in Albuquerque, New Mexico as a side project for singer-songwriter James Mercer, whose primary band was Flake Music. Mercer had formed Flake Music in 1992 with Neal Langford on guitar, Phil Higgs and then Marty Crandall on bass, and Jesse Sandoval on drums. During the next five years Flake Music released several singles, a full-length album, and began touring largely due to the help of other bands like Modest Mouse.

In 1997, Mercer began writing what would eventually become The Shins' first record. Flake Music came to an end around this time leaving Mercer with an opportunity to record, "Nature Bears A Vacuum" a 7" EP released by Omnibus Records. For their earliest shows, The Shins performed as a duo with Mercer recruiting Sandoval to play drums. "Nature Bears A Vacuum" was released with no expectations of expanding the band's following beyond Albuquerque. However, the single generated enough attention that Mercer felt it necessary to assemble a full band. Martin Crandall was brought in fold on keyboards, and Dave Hernandez (frontman of local punk legends Scared of Chaka, which had played dozens of shows with Flake Music) on bass.

After a year, during which half the songs on debut album "Oh, Inverted World" (including "New Slang") were penned, Hernandez left and moved to New York City. He was replaced by Neal Langford, and the group then embarked on a tour with Modest Mouse.

Wide Thumb




User Comments

No comments yet..

Last Edit by jackyboo: 27/Apr/20

External Links