Transparent Block
Cover NOT yet available in
Join Patreon for 4K upload/download access

Your Rating (Click a star below)

Star off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off icon


Data Complete
percentage bar 50%

Total Rating

Star Icon (0 users)

Back Cover
Transparent Block

CD Art
Transparent Icon

3D Case
Transparent Icon

3D Thumb
Transparent Icon

3D Flat
Transparent Icon

3D Face
Transparent Icon

3D Spine
Transparent Icon

First Released

Calendar Icon 2018


Genre Icon Post-Hardcore


Mood Icon Provocative


Style Icon ---


Theme Icon ---


Speed Icon Medium

Release Format

Release Format Icon Album

Record Label Release

Speed Icon Rise Records

World Sales Figure

Sales Icon 0 copies

Album Description
Available in:
Artificial Selection is the eighth studio album by American rock band Dance Gavin Dance, released on June 8, 2018, on Rise Records. It serves as a follow-up to the band's seventh studio album, Mothership (2016) and is their third consecutive studio release with the same consistent line-up. The album was produced by Kris Crummett, Erik Ron, and Dryw Owens, and was self-produced by Dance Gavin Dance, making it the first release by the band to feature more than one producer.

The album was supported by four singles; "Midnight Crusade", "Son of Robot", "Care", and "Count Bassy". To promote the album, the band toured as support on Underoath's No Fix American Tour and embarked on a headlining spring tour from April to June 2018.

Following extensive touring in support of their seventh studio album, Mothership (2016), Dance Gavin Dance began writing and recording new material for their eighth studio album in 2017. The band released a studio cover of the Bruno Mars single "That's What I Like", for Punk Goes Pop Vol. 7, on June 1, 2017. Soon after, the group released the stand-alone single "Summertime Gladness" on June 15. After touring internationally with other musical groups such as The Contortionist, Hail the Sun, and Polyphia, among others, and appearing on 2017 Vans Warped Tour, the band hinted at recording their eighth studio album in October 2017. The group performed their seventh album, Mothership, in its entirety on The Mothership Tour in December 2017.

Dance Gavin Dance embarked on a headlining European and U.K. tour with American metalcore band Veil of Maya in March 2018.

The band wrote and recorded Artificial Selection beginning on October 17, 2017 at Interlace Audio Recording Studios in Portland, Oregon with producer Kris Crummett. The album was also produced by Erik Ron and Dryw Owens, in addition to Crummett and Dance Gavin Dance. Ron served as a mixing engineer on the track "Midnight Crusade" and Owens served as a mixing engineer on "Son of Robot". The band's lead guitarist Will Swan is credited as an executive producer.

Upon the album's announcement, clean vocalist Tilian Pearson confirmed that Kurt Travis is featured on the track "Shelf Life". Eidola vocalist and guitarist Andrew Wells, Strawberry Girls guitarist Zachary Garren, Secret Band guitarist Martin Bianchini, and Louie Baltazar are featured guitarists on the album. Wells also is a guest vocalist on the track "Evaporate".

Artificial Selection was unveiled by the band on March 23, 2018, revealing pre-order packages, the album cover art, and track listing.

The band released four singles and three music videos prior to the album's release. On April 4, 2018, the band released the lead single "Midnight Crusade", accompanied with its music video. Two days later, "Midnight Crusade" was made available on Spotify and Apple Music. On May 4, 2018, the band released the second single, "Son of Robot". The third single, "Care", accompanied with its music video, were each released on May 25. The fourth single, "Count Bassy", was released on June 5, 2018, along with its music video.

Dance Gavin Dance toured as support on American post-hardcore band Underoath's No Fix American Tour from April 20 to May 26, 2018. The band announced a headlining tour with I See Stars, Erra, and Sianvar, on March 28, 2018. The tour took place from May 26 to June 21, 2018 in North America. The band performed at Rock on the Range.
wiki icon

User Album Review

External Album Reviews

User Comments

No comments yet...

Locked icon unlocked


External Links
MusicBrainz Large icontransparent block Amazon Large icontransparent block Metacritic Large Icon