Artist Name
(0 users)

5 Male

Power Metal



Hjordkær, Denmark

2001 to Present...

Most Loved

Music Videos

Upcoming Shows
Albertslund (01/Sep/18)

Artist Biography
Pyramaze was formed in 2001 by guitarist Michael Kammeyer. Next to join were fellow Danes drummer Morten Sørensen (Wuthering Heights) and bassist Niels Kvist. American keyboardist Jonah Weingarten, who originally met Kammeyer over the Internet, joined next. The band then set out in search for a singer. After listening to many demos, the band selected American singer Lance King (formerly of Balance of Power) to be their lead vocalist.

The band's first live show took place on April 23, 2004, in Minneapolis, Minnesota. They released their debut studio album, Melancholy Beast, in May 2004 and followed with a tour over the summer of 2004. During this time, Danish guitarist Toke Skjønnemand joined the group. In February 2006, the band released their second album, Legend of the Bone Carver, a concept album that was received very well by fans. On September 15, 2006, the band performed at the ProgPower USA VII festival in Atlanta, Georgia. Shortly after that performance, on November 10, 2006, the band announced on its official Web site that Lance King was no longer Pyramaze's singer. On April 14, 2007, former Iced Earth vocalist Matt Barlow returned to the metal scene as Pyramaze's new singer. On December 11, 2007, Jon Schaffer announced on his Web site that Barlow had re-joined Iced Earth. Barlow finished recording Immortal with Pyramaze before leaving to work solely with Iced Earth.

On March 13, 2008, Pyramaze released demos of two songs from Immortal, "Year of the Phoenix" and "Caramon's Poem." The album was officially released May 30, 2008.

On July 11, 2008, Pyramaze announced that former Tad Morose and Bloodbound singer Urban Breed would be taking over the role of lead vocalist. His first activity with the band was performing on their Danish tour in November 2008 in support of Volbeat. Work has begun on the next studio album, although no title has yet been announced.

On February 10, 2011, it was announced that band founder, songwriter, and guitarist Michael Kammeyer and bass guitarist Niels Kvist would be departing the band, citing family responsibilities. Shortly after, keyboardist Jonah Weingarten issued a letter stating that, despite losing their founder, leader, songwriter, guitarist, and bass guitarist all in one day, Pyramaze would carry on. This was backed up by a statement Pyramaze released that the band's producer, Jacob Hansen, formerly of Invocator, Anubis Gate, and Beyond Twilight, would be joining as guitarist, as well as continuing to mix the band's albums.

Wide Thumb




User Comments

No comments yet..

Unlocked - Last Edit - 16/May/17

Data Complete

Store Links
Buy Amazon